Being at the Beeb. Part One.

A short testimony of working inside the BBC

One day I shall arise from an interview chair and they shall knight me- Sir HannARGH, BBC employee! They shall hand me a copy of the BBC guidelines and make me swear an oath to PUBLIC DUTY.

“Go forth- do good unto the world- serve your nation and ride the BBC horse of impeccability up the steep terrain of knowledge!”

And all will be good in the world. Naturally I will wear a cape.
Everyone at the BBC wears capes. Unless they’re floor-managing, because well, then it would just get in the way. 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I should probably start by pointing out that the tag line is accurate. The cynical amongst you will ask “how did you sneak inside?” ALAS, I did not sneak into one of the BBC’s offices. No, they invited me in… I KNOW RIGHT!

I’d just finished my last exams at Uni and was wafting around Leeds with little do when I got a reply from one of the directors of BBC Look North (that’s local news up t’ North). He told me he’d passed my query about shadowing and work experience onto the Editor (a big scary title) for he had the power vested in him to arrange such things. I expected to hear nothing back from Editor Tim Smith, to have to send polite reminder emails that read something along the lines of:

Dear Sir/ Madam,
 
PLEASE LET ME SIT AND WATCH YOU WORK. I like news because it’s like, stuff happening, and I much admire pretty washed out freeze-frames, and yeah, I MAKE GREAT TEA. I’m also VERY BORED.
 
HIRE ME.
 
Yours,
HannARGH.
 

….but lo and behold, after a mesmerising talk with an Irish HR lady I was offered a week’s work experience with the newsteam. RESULT. By working my way around the room, which also catered for BBC Radio Leeds and the local branch of The Politics Show, I managed to turn one week into three. I chatted, was actually useful and was avidly (ba-boom-boom-tish) interested in what some reporters thought immensely boring, the editing.

So this is just a glimpse into my time there, written for people who are heading into something similar. Always have a pen handy folks….and a piece of white paper.

HannARGH x

 

p.s. Read Part Two: The Court Room here

Leave a Reply

