The career’s fair

er……just what you want to here in a careers advice session.
I think if I REALLY did some soul searching I’d look inwards and discover a slightly translucent blob-like creature content with munching on a jam sandwich and a bowl full of custard creams. But I won’t tell my tutor that.

<— I pull those faces too.

The media industry shrinking like a half-hearted violet, 200 jobs going, going, gone at BBC online? Just what a journalism graduate (hopefully come the summer) wants to hear. One of my classmates cried “false hope!”  at the jobs market the other day, and I try not wonder as I grope around in my bag of half chewed pens and lonely looking tapes if it’s all going to be worth it.

OF COURSE IT IS.

*faffs around with white balance settings*

*looks at the crumpled pile of newspapers on the floor*

My dad’s all: “So when are you going to do a law conversion course?”

errr…………..?

And my mum’s all: “What do you mean you might not get a job straight away?! You’ll be a graduate!”

ah mum. It’s not that easy anymore.

………………………………………………………………………………………………

Next Wednesday I’ll be trotting off to a speed interviewing session armed only with my C.V and a notepad. Apparently bigwigs from the television, journalism and film industries are going to rip me to shreds. (Probably what I need). So that’s exciting.  I’ll be  resembling a bag of grated cheese. (Ripped to shreds?…. Oh never mind.)

THAT IS if I get my voice back anytime soon. It’s wandered off. Trying to tempt it back with Lemsips. Can’t exactly turn up to mock interviews and do little more than gawp like a guppie and point at things wildly.

Anyone know of a crash course in sign language?

A voiceless HannARGH x

Leave a Reply

